Home ANS Reports 48th Annual GMA Dove Awards to be held at Allen Arena in Nashville

48th Annual GMA Dove Awards to be held at Allen Arena in Nashville

by Ginny McCabe

By Ginny McCabe, Special to ASSIST News Service 

48th Dove Awards logoNASHVILLE, TN (ANS – October 17, 2017) — Hosted by Kari Jobe and Tasha Cobbs Leonard, the 48th Annual GMA Dove Awards will be held live from Allen Arena at Lipscomb University in Nashville, Tenn. tonight, on Tuesday, October 17th. There are limited tickets still available for the awards show.

Zach Williams and Lauren Daigle lead the Dove Award artist nominations with five, followed by Chris Tomlin, Crowder, Kirk Franklin and NEEDTOBREATHE, with four nods each.

The evening’s performance lineup will include Bri (Briana Babineaux), Casting Crowns, CeCe Winans, Danny Gokey, Erica Campbell, Gaither Vocal Band, Hezekiah Walker, Hillsong Worship, Hollyn, Jekalyn Carr, Joseph Habedank, Matt Redman, MercyMe, Micah Tyler, Reba McEntire, Ryan Stevenson, Steven Malcolm, Tauren Wells, Travis Greene and Zach Williams.

Gaither Vocal BandThe night’s presenters will feature Anthony Brown, Chris Tomlin, David and Tamela Mann, for KING & Country and Matt Maher, Beth Moore, Dr. Bobby Jones, Brandon Heath, Chonda Pierce, Jaci Velasquez, John Gray, Karen Peck Gooch, Kim Fields, Lauren Daigle, Mandisa, Miel San Marcos, Gov. Mike Huckabee, Montell Jordan, Trace Adkins, Travis Cottrell and Tye Tribbett.

The GMA Dove Awards incorporates talent from every genre of Gospel/Christian music. Over 1,500 professional members select the Dove Award nominees, and the winners are voted on by the entire GMA membership of close to 2,500 members.

For the latest Dove Awards news, visit the Dove Awards website, Facebook, Twitter and Instagram. For more on the Trinity Broadcasting Family of Networks, visit www.tbn.org.

For fans at home, the GMA Dove Awards will air exclusively on the Trinity Broadcasting Network (TBN) on Sunday, October 22 at 8 p.m. (CST).

Here’s a look at the nominees in some of the top categories:

Artist of the Year

BriChris Tomlin, sixsteprecords/Sparrow Records

for KING & COUNTRY, Word Entertainment

Hillsong United, Hillsong Music Australia/Sparrow Records

MercyMe, Fair Trade Services

tobyMac, ForeFront Records

Song of the Year

“Chain Breaker” – (writers) Jonathan Smith, Mia Fieldes, Zach Williams

“Come Alive (Dry Bones)” – (writers) Lauren Daigle, Michael Farren

“Even If” – (writers) Bart Millard, Ben Glover, Crystal Lewis, David Garcia, Tim Timmons

“Eye Of The Storm” – (writers) Bryan Fowler, Ryan Stevenson

“Feel Invincible” – (writers) John Cooper, Seth Mosley

“Great Are You Lord” – (writers) David Leonard, Jason Ingram, Leslie Jordan

“King Of The World” – (writers) Sam Mizell, Becca Mizell, Natalie Grant

“O Come To The Altar” – (writers) Chris Brown, Mack Brock, Steven Furtick, Wade Joye

“The Lion & The Lamb” – (writers) Brenton Brown, Brian Johnson, Leeland Mooring

“Thy Will” – (writers) Bernie Herms, Emily Lynn Weisband, Hillary Scott

“What a Beautiful Name” – (writers) Ben Fielding, Brooke Ligertwood

Worship Song of the Year

Ryan Stevenson“Ever Be” – (writers) Bobby Strand, Chris Greely, Gabriel Wilson, Kalley Heiligenthal

“Fierce” – (writers) Chris Quilala, Joshua Silverberg, Mia Fieldes

“O Come To The Altar” – (writers) Chris Brown, Mack Brock, Steven Furtick, Wade Joye

“The Lion & The Lamb” – (writers) Brenton Brown, Brian Johnson, Leeland Mooring

“What a Beautiful Name” – (writers) Ben Fielding, Brooke Ligertwood

Contemporary Gospel/Urban Worship Album of the Year

Let Them Fall In Love – CeCe Winans

Worship Journal Live – Fred Hammond

One Way – Tamela Mann

Secret Place – Vashawn Mitchell

Demonstrate – William Murphy

New Artist of the Year

Bri (Brianna Babineaux), Marquis Boone Enterprises/Tyscot Records

Micah Tyler, Fair Trade Services

Social Club Misfits, Capitol CMG Label Group

Steven Malcolm, Word Entertainment

Zach Williams, Provident Label Group

Gospel Artist of the Year

Kari JobiCeCe Winans, Pure Springs Gospel

Kirk Franklin, Fo Yo Soul Recordings/RCA Inspiration

Tamela Mann, TillyMann Music Group

Tasha Cobbs Leonard, Motown Gospel

Travis Greene, RCA Inspiration

Bluegrass/Country/Roots Recorded Song of the Year

“Don’t Give Up On Me” – Bradley Walker

“Little White Church House” – Doug Anderson

“When Grandpa Sang Amazing Grace” – The Nelons

“Back to God” – Reba McEntire

“Rocks” – The Isaacs

Pop/Contemporary Album of the Year

The Very Next Thing – Casting Crowns

Rise – Danny Gokey

The River – Jordan Feliz

Lifer – MercyMe

Chain Breaker – Zach Williams

Inspirational Film of the Year

Ben Hur poster“Ben Hur” – (producers) LightWorkers Media, Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer (MGM), Paramount Pictures, Sean Daniel Company

“The Case For Christ” – (producers) Triple Horse Studios, Pure Flix Entertainment

“I’m Not Ashamed” – (producers) Visible Pictures, Big Film Factory, Pure Flix Entertainment

“Priceless” – (producer) Roadside Attractions

“The Shack” – (producers) Netter Productions, Summit Entertainment

Visit www.doveawards.com/nominees for a complete list of nominees. For more information, or for tickets to the 46th Annual GMA Dove Awards go to www.doveawards.com.

Photo captions: 1) Logo, 2) The Gaither Vocal Band. 3) Bri. 4) Ryan Stevenson. 5) Kari Jobe. 6) Ben Hur poster. 7) Ginny McCabe.

Ginny McCabeAbout the writer: Ginny McCabe is a bestselling author, an award-winning journalist, media professional, speaker & teacher. Her work may be seen in publications like Journal-News and Reuters. Her books have been published by Thomas Nelson/Harper Collins & Standard Publishing. Ginny has spent decades covering topics like news, entertainment, business and faith-inspired themes. She serves as the secretary of the Greater Cincinnati Pro Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists. The SPJ chapter Ginny serves on has also been named “Chapter of the Year” three out of the last four years. Follow her @ginnymccabe on Twitter, Facebook @ginnymccabeauthor and at www.ginnymccabe.com.

** You may republish this or any of or ANS stories with attribution to the ASSIST News Service (www.assistnews.net). Please also tell your friends and colleagues that they can get a complimentary subscription to ANS by going to the website and signing up there.

Other stories you may enjoy

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More