Dove Awards to host annual award show in Nashville



Music City hosts Christian music’s biggest night. The show will air on Trinity Broadcasting Network (TBN) on Sunday

The 49th Annual GMA Dove Awards will be held tonight on Tuesday, October 16, 2018 live from Allen Arena at Lipscomb University in Nashville, Tennessee at 6:30 p.m. CT. The show will air exclusively on the Trinity Broadcasting Network (TBN) on Sunday, October 21th at 8 p.m. CT/9 p.m. ET.

“God is doing amazing things through our artists and their music. This year’s theme Reverent Wonder celebrates the greatness of God and acknowledges His powerful message of hope for the world,” said GMA President Jackie Patillo.

The night’s performers will include Big Daddy Weave, Jason Crabb with special guest Rascal Flatts, Cory Asbury, Koryn Hawthorne featuring Natalie Grant, Tauren Wells, Lauren Daigle, Tori Kelly featuring Kirk Franklin, Newsboys, For KING & COUNTRY, Jekalyn Carr, Social Club Misfits, Zach Williams. KB, Anthony Brown & Group TherAPy with 1K Phew.

Chris Tomlin, Tasha Cobbs Leonard, Bart Millard, Devon Franklin, Bill Gaither, Jasmine Murray, Matthew West, Dr. Bobby Jones, Brian Courtney Wilson, Brian and Jenn Johnson, Chonda Pierce, Erwin Brothers, Israel Houghton, Joel Houston, Jonathan McReynolds, Jordan Feliz, Joseph Habedank, Rebecca St. James, Trace Adkins and The Walls Group are among the evening’s presenters.

Tauren Wells leads artist nominations with eight, followed by Zach Williams with six and Cory Asbury, Tasha Cobbs Leonard and TobyMac with five nods each. Top nominated writer/producer Colby Wedgeworth scored eight nominations. Nominees were announced at a press conference in August.

A full list of nominees is available at  For more information on the Dove Awards, go to

Here’s a look at some of this year’s nominees:

Artist of the Year

Hillsong UNITED, Hillsong Music Australia / Capital CMG

MercyMe, Fair Trade Services

NEEDTOBREATHE, Atlantic Records

Tasha Cobbs Leonard, Motown Gospel

Zach Williams, Provident Label Group

Song of the Year

“All My Hope” – (writers) David Crowder, Ed Cash

“Blessings” – (writers) Allen Swoope, Asheton Hogan, Lecrae Moore, Maurice Simmonds, Tyrone Williams Griffin, Jr.

“Broken Things” – (writers) Andrew Jacob Pruis, Jason Houser, Matthew West

“Control (Somehow You Want Me)” – (writers) Jason Ingram, Matt Bronleewe, Mike Donehey

“Different” – (writers) Kyle Lee, Micah Tyler

“Hills and Valleys” – (writers) Chuck Butler, Jonathan Smith, Tauren Wells

“I just need U.” – (writers) Blake NeeSmith, Bryan Fowler, Kevin McKeehan

“I’ll Find You” – (writers) Danny Majic, John Mitchell, Justin Franks, Lecrae Moore, Natalie Sims, Sasha Sloan, Victoria Kelly

“O’Lord” – (writers) Joe Williams, Paul Mabury

“Old Church Choir” – (writers) Colby Wedgeworth, Ethan Hulse, Zach Williams

“Reckless Love” – (writers) Caleb Culver, Cory Asbury, Ran Jackson

“So Will I (100 Billion X)” (writers) Benjamin Hastings, Joel Houston, Michael Fatkin

“Unfinished” – (writers) Ben Glover, Colby Wedgeworth

New Artist of the Year

Cory Asbury, Bethel Music

Koryn Hawthorne, RCA Inspiration

Mosaic MSC, Essential Worship

Pat Barrett, Capitol CMG

Tauren Wells, Provident Label Group

Gospel Artist of the Year

CeCe Winans, Puresprings Gospel / Thirty Tigers

Jekalyn Carr, Lunjeal Music Group

Kirk Franklin, RCA Inspiration

Tasha Cobbs Leonard, Motown Gospel

Travis Greene, RCA Inspiration

Worship Song of the Year

“Do It Again” – (writers) Chris Brown, Mack Brock, Matt Redman, Steven Furtick

“Reckless Love” – (writers) Caleb Culver, Cory Asbury, Ran Jackson

“So Will I (100 Billion X)” – (writers) Benjamin Hastings, Joel Houston, Michael Fatkin

“Spirit of the Living God” – (writers) Jacob Sooter, Mia Fieldes

“Tremble” – (writers) Andres Figueroa, Hank Bentley, Mariah McManus, Mia Fieldes

Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year

“All My Hope (feat. Tauren Wells)” – Crowder, (writers) David Crowder, Ed Cash

“O’Lord”– Lauren Daigle, (writers) Joe Williams, Paul Mabury

“When We Pray” – Tauren Wells, (writers) Colby Wedgeworth, Ethan Hulse, Tauren Wells

“I just need U.” – TobyMac, (writers) Blake NeeSmith, Bryan Fowler, Toby McKeehan

“Old Church Choir” – Zach Williams, (writers) Colby Wedgeworth, Ethan Hulse, Zach Williams

Rap/Hip Hop Recorded Song of the Year

“Not Today Satan (ft. Andy Mineo) ” – KB, (writers) Andrew Mineo, Chris Mackey, Jacob Cardec, Joseph Prielozny, Kevin Burgess

“War Cry (ft. Tauren Wells)” – Social Club Misfits, (writers) Andrew Wells, David Frank, Fernando Miranda, John Thomas Roach, Martin Santiago, Tommee Profitt

“SMILE” – Tedashii, (writers) Lasanna Harris, Marquis Rachad, Philip Green, Shama Joseph, Tedashii Anderson

“Forever” – Trip Lee, (writers) Jacob Cardec, William Barfield

“Praying Hands (ft. Trip Lee)” – Ty Brasel, (writers) Kenneth Christian Mackey, Ty Brasel

Contemporary Gospel/Urban Recorded Song of the Year

“I Got That” – Anthony Brown & group therAPy, (writer) Anthony Brown

“A Great Work” – Brian Courtney Wilson, (writers) Aaron W. Lindsey, Alvin Richardson, Brian Courtney Wilson

“Not Lucky, I’m Loved” – Jonathan McReynolds, (writers) Jonathan McReynolds, Terrell Demetrius Wilson

“Won’t He Do It” – Koryn Hawthorne and Roshon Fegan, (writers) Loren Hill, Makeba Riddick, Rich Shelton

“You (ft. Tye Tribbett)” – Snoop Dogg, (writers) Jovan J. Dawkins, Jevon Hill, Stanley Green Jr, Timothy Tyrone Bush Jr, Tye Tribbett

Southern Gospel Recorded Song of the Year

“He Can Take It” – Brian Free & Assurance, (writers) Jeff Bumgardner, Kenna Turner West, Sue C. Smith

“Clear Skies” – Ernie Haase & Signature Sound, (writers) Ernie Haase, Joel Lindsey, Wayne Haun

“Hallelujah Band” – Gaither Vocal Band, (writers) Becca Mizell, Sam Mizell

“Washed By The Water” – Jason Crabb, (writers) Dave Barnes, Jason Crabb, Jordan Reynolds

“Just When You Thought” – Joseph Habedank, (writers) Joseph Habedank, Michael Farren, Wayne Haun

The GMA Dove Awards celebrate the contributions of artists from every style of Christian/Gospel music. Nominees are determined by GMA’s professional members, and winners are voted on by the entire GMA membership.